Posted on

Paignton Can Keep My Bones – Winner of the Wordhorse 2014 Flash Fiction competition

 

paignton-can-keep-my-bones

“It has been an atypically harsh winter, and Paignton looks withered and faded in the daylight. I step out of the Cavendish and reconcile myself to Winner Street’s sour, dead smells. Sometimes I swear that this town has a weird stink that even I’m not used to yet. The street is slick with icy drizzle. It is so cold I think that my toenails might crack.”

Ladies and gentlemen, boys and girls, I am pleased to reveal that my story Paignton Can Keep My Bones has been selected as the winner of the 2014 Wordhorse Flash Fiction competition.

I have won a signed copy of The New Confessions by William Boyd, along with a £20 Amazon voucher for my troubles. I will keep them in my Lidl carrier bag along with the rest of my trophies.

Update: Unfortunately it appears that the Wordhorse website has been taken down. Hopefully the story will resurface at a later date! 

Leave a Reply

