Posted on

The 12 Crimes of Christmas: Part 2

“Why was Father Christmas upset when he got a sweater for Christmas?”
I shrug.
“Because he was hoping for a screamer or a moaner.”
Clive Clayhill laughs gutturally, then offers me a nasty grin – his rotten teeth are the same colour as Elaine’s gravy. I push my empty plate away and scuff my chair back on the faded linoleum, feeling strangely nauseated.
That’s what happens when you buy your Christmas crackers in the fucking Sex Shop…

It’s time for part two of my 12 Crimes of Christmas countdown!

Today’s selection were all published by UK crime fiction site Close To The Bone: Christmas Eve Can Kill You, Blue Christmas and XXXmas Boogaloo.

I might be wrong, but I think Christmas Eve Can Kill You was my first ever appearance at Close To The Bone – an association that ultimately spawned three top-quality books (Meat Bubbles, Boneyard Dogs and Ten Pints of Blood)!

It’s interesting to read Christmas Eve Can Kill You back after all these years (I wrote it seven years ago!). It’s pretty damn hardboiled, but lacks the twisted humour of the later stories, and the protagonist isn’t really reflective of the character Joe Rey became. I think I described it as the Nativity story with added hammers at the time. That just about sums it up!

I think Blue Christmas is probably my favourite of the three – not least because it marked the first ever appearance of Benson & Hedges, a pair of elderly cops who outgrew their light relief bit-part roles and evolved into two of my favourite supporting characters.

Enjoy!

About Tom Leins

Tom Leins is the author of the Paignton Noir mysteries SKULL MEAT, SNUFF RACKET, SPINE FARM, SIN CLINIC, SLUG BAIT, SLOP SHOP and BONEYARD DOGS and the short story collections MEAT BUBBLES & OTHER STORIES (Close To The Bone), REPETITION KILLS YOU (All Due Respect), TEN PINTS OF BLOOD (Close To The Bone) and THE GOOD BOOK: FAIRY TALES FOR HARD MEN (All Due Respect).

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.